Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    42,908

    Default What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    They're starting to appearing in the router's log. Every 2nd message is showing DSL out of sync. Me? The router? Xnet? (I wouldnt be surprised), the cable going from the PC Ethernet, to the router?. Or windows 7?

    This has only been happening in the last few days. I cant remember ever seeing out of sync errors before.

  2. #2
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whangarei
    Posts
    5,368

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    Did you do a self-install for the ADSL or did a tech come and install a master splitter?

    It may be that one of the filters is faulty???

    The sync problem would be between the router Xnet I would think and wouldn't have anything to do with your PC/ethernet/win7.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    42,908

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    The router came with a dlink filter, but I replaced it with a telecom one the other day. When I noticed the errors in the log. But, its still doing the same thing. Dont need a splitter, the only thing connected is the filter into the jack, and the phone / modem connected to the filter. Nothing else is connected (dont have anything like an alarm, or sky)

  4. #4
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,505

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    Noise on the line can cause this. Are you getting interruptions to service during this, or does it appear to function OK (I'd be surprised)?

    An overloaded DSLAM could probably cause it too.
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    42,908

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    It appears to function OK. I stay connected, I can go to sites obviously, and I can download whatever, and theyre not corrupt or anything after.

    I sent Xnet an email earlier.

    They replied saying:

    I can confirm you haven't disconnected once in the last 24hours.
    If you were losing sync, you would disconnect and reconnect again, even
    if you only disconnected for 15 seconds.

    I suspect it could be a wireless or a router issue.

    If your using wireless, try plugging a cable from the back of the
    computer to the router and see if you 'stay connected'.

    If your not using wireless, you could try another modem to see if its
    doing the same thing. Or possibly take your modem to a friend or family
    members place, plug it in, see if it does the same thing. If it does, it
    could be a faulty modem.


    I dont use wireless, or an alarm , or a splitter, and I dont have sky. I cant try another modem, I dont have 1. Mates dont live around here, I dont drive, and have no car. And family dont live in Auckland

    I havent tried telecom yet to get them to test the line. I was thinking of the exchange. Might have to find out if thats causing it. I've called Dlink, they'll ring back (I wont hold my breath) waiting

    Even tho the shop's warranty for the modem, is only for 1 year, is Dlink's different or the same??
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 11-02-2010 at 11:33 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    2,682

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    I'd check with Telecom. Sounds like a line problem between the modem and the Telecom port.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    42,908

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    Sweet I'll ring them now. See what they say. Rang telecom the line is fine. Asked if they could check the exchange, they would, but if they found nothing wrong, I'll have to pay. Forget that
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 11-02-2010 at 01:11 PM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    21,787

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    You tried unplugging the phone to see if it cures it?
    wipe your paws.

  9. #9
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,505

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    If you're not experiencing any service degradation, it could be very hard to get much help out of any service providers, unfortunately. I am very surprised you're not losing connecting if the router is "losing sync" - perhaps the router is misreporting?
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    42,908

    Default Re: What would cause DSL out of sync errors / messages?

    I'll unplug the phone as soon as I get off it lol. I'm on the phone to Dlink and I'll see what they say. Only service degradation is Xnet's slackass speeds lol

Similar Threads

  1. Can not sync time
    By JaceKiwi in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-10-2006, 07:25 AM
  2. PowerDVD - DVD out of sync
    By mayhem in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-01-2003, 03:12 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-04-2002, 11:18 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-04-2002, 09:41 AM
  5. NT and Time Sync
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-03-2001, 09:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •