Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    310

    Default Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    Hey ya all

    Came across a patch, actually saw it on a friends pc, that allows 32bit OS to see and use ram that are beyond the traditional 3GB limitation that 32bit OS is known for. The patch appears to work by modifiying certain registry keys and possibly even some things in the bios.

    I was wondering is such thing even possible? Even though Im seeing it, I just thought maybe it could just be a display hack or number hack, where in reality the max ram allowed in 32bit OS is still 3GB

    My understanding is that the 3GB limitation is an actual windows 32bit architecture limitation, hence regardless of what is done to the reg or even the bios it is only able to use 3GB of ram, even though it may well be able to see more than 3GB.

    But then again the registry is the heart of the OS, so I guess anything is possible.

    Any comments?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    Yes it can be done, search MS.com.
    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, GTX 560 TI 1GB DDR5 graphics card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2233WM LCD 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD

  3. #3
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    Quote Originally Posted by CCF View Post
    Hey ya all

    Came across a patch, actually saw it on a friends pc, that allows 32bit OS to see and use ram that are beyond the traditional 3GB limitation that 32bit OS is known for. The patch appears to work by modifiying certain registry keys and possibly even some things in the bios.

    I was wondering is such thing even possible? Even though Im seeing it, I just thought maybe it could just be a display hack or number hack, where in reality the max ram allowed in 32bit OS is still 3GB

    My understanding is that the 3GB limitation is an actual windows 32bit architecture limitation, hence regardless of what is done to the reg or even the bios it is only able to use 3GB of ram, even though it may well be able to see more than 3GB.

    But then again the registry is the heart of the OS, so I guess anything is possible.

    Any comments?
    Basically most modern processors support a feature called PAE, Physical Address Extension which allow the operating(provided that it supports it) to overcome the 32bit architechtural limit of 4gb of RAM to be utilised.

    The reason you can't utilise more than 4gb is a licensing issue rather than an architectural one

    Read this:
    http://www.geoffchappell.com/viewer....nse/memory.htm

    Its long, but very comprehensive and should answer all questions about PAE.

    Blam


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    I don't see how this could be done via changes in registry or BIOS, it would require a kernel (the real heart of an OS) with special support for addressing more than 4gig of memory (some of this address space is taken by system devices and video card). Though I understand you can enable a pae kernel with XP via modification of the boot.ini the general consensus seems to be that this kernel still does not support above 4gig addressing, unlike Server 2003 x32.

  5. #5
    Custom User waldok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    Quote Originally Posted by Blam View Post
    The reason you can't utilise more than 4gb is a licensing issue rather than an architectural one
    Mark Russinovich has a slightly different take on it here:
    http://blogs.technet.com/markrussino...1/3092070.aspx

    The key bits are:
    "However, by the time Windows XP SP2 was under development, client systems with more than 4GB were foreseeable, so the Windows team started broadly testing Windows XP on systems with more than 4GB of memory."

    "What they found was that many of the systems would crash, hang, or become unbootable because some device drivers, commonly those for video and audio devices that are found typically on clients but not servers, were not programmed to expect physical addresses larger than 4GB. As a result, the drivers truncated such addresses, resulting in memory corruptions and corruption side effects. Server systems commonly have more generic devices and with simpler and more stable drivers, and therefore hadn't generally surfaced these problems. The problematic client driver ecosystem led to the decision for client SKUs to ignore physical memory that resides above 4GB, even though they can theoretically address it."

    cheers
    W

  6. #6
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    Windows 7 x86 will see 4Gb and even report it, however addressing limitation of 32bit will NOT use the full 4Gb
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  7. #7
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    Quote Originally Posted by waldok View Post
    Mark Russinovich has a slightly different take on it here:
    http://blogs.technet.com/markrussino...1/3092070.aspx

    The key bits are:
    "However, by the time Windows XP SP2 was under development, client systems with more than 4GB were foreseeable, so the Windows team started broadly testing Windows XP on systems with more than 4GB of memory."

    "What they found was that many of the systems would crash, hang, or become unbootable because some device drivers, commonly those for video and audio devices that are found typically on clients but not servers, were not programmed to expect physical addresses larger than 4GB. As a result, the drivers truncated such addresses, resulting in memory corruptions and corruption side effects. Server systems commonly have more generic devices and with simpler and more stable drivers, and therefore hadn't generally surfaced these problems. The problematic client driver ecosystem led to the decision for client SKUs to ignore physical memory that resides above 4GB, even though they can theoretically address it."

    cheers
    W
    Yes-that is also the other reason behind this..

    IMO Microsoft just didn't bother trying to fix PAE...


  8. #8
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    13,467

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    How could Microsoft fix a problem caused by other people's drivers?
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    420

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    Quote Originally Posted by SolMiester View Post
    Windows 7 x86 will see 4Gb and even report it, however addressing limitation of 32bit will NOT use the full 4Gb
    we did this to stop wasting peoples time and money, calling up support when they had purchased 4GB of RAM in their machine, but Windows x86 was reporting 3.1/3.2/3.3GB depending on chipset/video card etc and they wanted to know why

    If you've got 4GB in Windows 7, Win7 reports 4GB, even though all of the 4GB isn't usable because of those 32 bit architecture limitations

    Thanks
    Nathan

  10. #10
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Windows 4GB RAM patch for 32bits, real?

    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, GTX 560 TI 1GB DDR5 graphics card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2233WM LCD 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD

Similar Threads

  1. Hoo Hah...It's Windows Patch Day Again!
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16-08-2007, 06:58 PM
  2. Windows Patch. Come n Getit.
    By Murray P in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 05:52 PM
  3. Patch for Iinternet Explorer Windows XP SP2
    By chiefnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-11-2004, 06:09 PM
  4. New Windows Security Patch
    By Laura in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-02-2004, 09:10 AM
  5. Windows ME Patch
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-02-2002, 08:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •