Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Comodo Firewall

  1. #1
    Remember Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whangarei
    Posts
    1,805

    Default Comodo Firewall

    Some time ago I downloaded and used the free Comodo firewall program. This seemed to work very well, and did as it was supposed. Somehow over a period of time this morphed into something called Comodo Internet Security, which became a bit of a hassle in its operation. I recently uninstalled the whole program which greatly increased the speed with which my computer now responds to commands and opens windows in the browser. Today I thought I would install the stand-alone firewall, but it seems that this is now available only as part of the security suite, which I don't want to revisit, as NOD32 is better. Do I really need another firewall, and is there an alternative to Comodo?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    42,895

    Default Re: Comodo Firewall

    Well if you think NOD32's firewall is better, use it. You could install the older version of comodo, but its not as secure (as the later version), and its probably more vulnerable than the later version

  3. #3
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrounded by Turkeys
    Posts
    11,871

    Default Re: Comodo Firewall

    You should have the option to install the firewall only, I personally use the full Eset suite as it was free for a year and have had no problems yet others on here say the firewall side of it is not so good. I used to use Comodo but when I rebuilt this machine it would not work with my NIC, all my other machines have Zonealarm for the same reason they all have the same flavour of NIC
    If it is not broke, don't make it broker by trying to make it better. (This applies specifically to PJ)

    Brook Waimarama sanctuary
    3D printing

  4. #4
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Default Re: Comodo Firewall

    Comodo does give you the option to install the Firewall only.

  5. #5
    Remember Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whangarei
    Posts
    1,805

    Default Re: Comodo Firewall

    Thanks guys. I reloaded Comodo and installed only the firewall. Speed is still good.

Similar Threads

  1. For those of you who use Comodo Firewall
    By Speedy Gonzales in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-10-2008, 08:34 AM
  2. COMODO Firewall V3
    By symiggy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-11-2007, 08:56 AM
  3. comodo Firewall
    By SolMiester in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-03-2007, 12:27 PM
  4. comodo firewall
    By jonkimnicko in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-02-2007, 07:54 AM
  5. Comodo firewall,has anyone tried it out?
    By Neil McC in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2006, 01:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •