PDA

View Full Version : UPS inverters

Beemer
24-09-2008, 01:37 PM
While chatting to a guy yesterday who knew a mutual friend we got onto the subject of power cuts in rural areas. I said unfortunately we have a lot of very brief power cuts where the supply is interrupted for a few seconds then comes back on again. The PC turns off and also the clocks and microwave, but the video and stove are fine unless the power is off for more than 30 minutes or so. He said he uses a UPS inline 2.2kw inverter and demonstrated how the PC carried on running when the power was turned off.

Now he was an electrical engineer by trade and I'm a real novice when it comes to things like this, so I'd like some advice before I rush out and buy one! I realise it's not something that will cover me for days on end when the power goes off (we lost it for six days recently), but it would be very handy to stop the PC shutting down when the power supply is interrupted briefly, or to allow me to save what I was working on before shutting down.

This guy said they were only about $200 and could be purchased from places like Ideal Electrical. What I'd like to know is, are they worth it for what I want? What do I need to know about them - how they work, what I need to do to set one up after purchase, etc. He said a 2.2kw one would be more than enough for the one PC I have - correct?

I thought it sounded like a great idea, but I don't want to buy one and then find it was a waste of money. I currently have surge protector devices on my PC but of course they do nothing to stop power being interrupted.

Thebananamonkey
24-09-2008, 02:12 PM
Sounds like a great idea. If you can find a 2.2kw one for ~ $200 I'd go for it.

It's basically like having a large battery attached to your computer. When you have reliable mains power it just sits there, but it picks up the slack when you don't. Gives you about 30min to back stuff up and shut down.