PDA

View Full Version : Help? Overheating?

legendisdope
23-11-2005, 03:37 AM
Im not a computer expert or anything so I dont know what to do.

Well my problem is that everytime I put the side back on my computer [the cover]..my computer doesnt work, it starts to freeze up and den unfreeze and the CPU usage keeps going to 100..Then minutes later I end up just freezing and having to reboot.

So now I have to use my computer with the cover off [exposing the insides] Doing this stops the freezing and stuff..and it runs pretty smoothly..

Can someone tell me whats wrong with my computer?

Thanks.

drcspy
23-11-2005, 05:46 AM
almost certainly overheating.......poor airflow while the side is on.......perhaps take a look under the fan that sits on the processor heatsink ........if theres a lot of dust stuck in the heatsink it'll stop the fan from blowing air thru it to cool the cpu thus it'll overheat quite quickly.........

heni72847
23-11-2005, 06:36 AM
install some temperature monitorying program such as Mother Board Monitor or just look under bios to see if there's reading for sensors
this way you can check out if your sys runs the cpu rise to certain temp then crash

legendisdope
23-11-2005, 10:29 AM
almost certainly overheating.......poor airflow while the side is on.......perhaps take a look under the fan that sits on the processor heatsink ........if theres a lot of dust stuck in the heatsink it'll stop the fan from blowing air thru it to cool the cpu thus it'll overheat quite quickly.........

^alright when i get home i will clean out the fan and under it..and ill tell u if it works or not.

legendisdope
23-11-2005, 11:53 AM
I havent tried yet because i dont want to pop the fan off, im scared i might screw up something.

Do you guys think its safe to leave the side off?..or will there be a side effect or something?

I was just blowin the top of the fan and cleanin it, and i got the side on right now, and it hasnt messed up..yet..

chiefnz
23-11-2005, 01:05 PM