PDA

View Full Version : add-ons to paths?



Apteryx
14-11-2005, 01:14 AM
Hi there Any help appreciated please.

I regularly use Spybot and Lavasoft with nary a hint of trouble. But my puta is so slow its practically dead!
When I run WinPatrol and/or TUT Ultimate Troubleshooter I see addons to the end of my pathway for services. eg after .exe:
svchost.exe -k Network Services
svchost.exe -k DcomLaunch

Seeking further info from Winpatrol is no help re add ons but TUT tells me that if the path is not exactly as stated then I may have a virus.
a) do these add ons tell me that service/task is virused?
b) How do I devirus it if none of my virus programs detect them?
Does any of the hardware etc below suggest why its become so slow?

I have Symantecs full Security Suite and Windows firewall on Windows xpsp2 with
Chipset : Intel i865PE
Processor : Intel Pentium 4 @ 3001 MHz
Physical Memory : 1024 MB (2 x 512 DDR-SDRAM PC2700 @ 166 MHz)
Video Card : ATI Technologies Inc Radeon 9200 SE Series (RV280)
Hard Disk : WDC WD1200BB-00DWA0 (120 GB)
DVD-Rom Recorder :DVD DUAL GO-W0404A CDR, CDR-W, DVD-R (40x ) (40x )
Monitor Type : Philips PHILIPS 107E5 15 inchs
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
DirectX : Version 9.0c

Thanks

Vince
14-11-2005, 03:47 AM
I did a Google and came up with this, it looks like it will help.
http://ask-leo.com/comments_000185.php?page=22

Speedy Gonzales
14-11-2005, 06:41 AM
Get hijackthis and post a log here.

http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/

http://www.merijn.org/files/hijackthis.zip

UNZIP it first, and put it in its own folder, then run it, and scan and copy and paste the log here.

drcspy
14-11-2005, 07:02 AM
symantecs full security suite..........well.....just for your own personal peace of mind goto here:

http://housecall60.trendmicro.com/en/start_corp.asp?id=scan

and run a scan .......having had plenty of experiences removing trojans from systems which had the latest and greatest and up-to-date versions of norton antivirus on them and norton was sayin 'no virus' I simply dont trust that program.........either goto housecall or download and install avg free just to run it and test your system.......it's very smart to do another scan with a different program dont just rely on one antivirus prog they're not perfect and norton perhaps less perfect than many and certainly not worth paying for..... !!!