PDA

View Full Version : Press F1 is now a Bandwidth hog



stu161204
16-12-2004, 05:12 PM
Since Press F1 went to vBulletin it is now a Bandwidth hog :( & I will not be coming back because of this.

Good day.

alphazulusixeightniner
16-12-2004, 05:15 PM
Set your web browser to display text only or something. :)

cold_fusion
16-12-2004, 05:23 PM
Some people just cant take change can they. Im on 56k and i love it.......no not being on 56k, i mean the new forum. No one can actually love the 56k. better than nothing i suspose but only marginally

Edward
16-12-2004, 05:24 PM
vbulletin is like that :(

Murray P
16-12-2004, 05:28 PM
I haven't been hit by anything nasty yet, seems to be pretty fast on 128k. As suggested Stu, fiddle with your setting until you reach a happy median.

noone
16-12-2004, 05:33 PM
you pay a price for having a nice looking forum

agent
16-12-2004, 05:35 PM
Stop whining and get over yourselves.

You can tell your browser not to load images. You can block images from specified domains in certain browsers. You can try something like OffByOne Web Browser. You can choose not to display signatures.

PressF1 has not transformed into a bandwidth hog (some would have you believe it always has been).

In fact I'm wondering why people bothered to register simply to tell us that the new forum is a bandwidth hog. We don't need to know. It appears that most people like the new forum software, and are appreciative of all the effort that has gone into making the changeover.

Jester
16-12-2004, 05:38 PM
bye Stu

~sy~
16-12-2004, 05:39 PM
Since Press F1 went to vBulletin it is now a Bandwidth hog :( & I will not be coming back because of this.

Good day.

You've always said this and came back. I bet you'll be back. :p :cool:

Chilling_Silence
16-12-2004, 05:44 PM
I agree with Sy,

Stu - You've said you're leaving many times, this is becoming almost a joke now.

You're a smart guy - Block some of the images if you must...

Geez, it aint that bad.

Play around with the settings if you really must.


Chill.

tweak'e
16-12-2004, 05:51 PM
bandwidth hog ???

your kidding right? this is WAY WAY faster to download than the old one.

if its really slow the odds are your browser cache need fixing.

~sy~
16-12-2004, 05:56 PM
Stu,

I would believe that your computer is somewhat messed up. How can it hog your bandwidth if it is taking less time to download?

... Or is it another excuse to catch attention. If so, you've caught me :'(

TonyF
16-12-2004, 05:58 PM
You can tell your browser not to load images.

Opera with images off works just fine, as it did on the old Forum
Cheers Tony

agent
16-12-2004, 05:58 PM
So Stu's the boy who cried wolf, is he?

Probably in more areas than the "I'm leaving" department, too.

ninja
16-12-2004, 06:16 PM
Stu - You've said you're leaving many times, this is becoming almost a joke now.

It's called attention whoring, it's quite well documented at www.urbandictionary.com

alphazulusixeightniner
16-12-2004, 06:23 PM
It's called attention whoring, it's quite well documented at www.urbandictionary.com

lmao :D

Prescott
16-12-2004, 07:01 PM
its actually not _that_ bad really, im on 56K and when i heard that PF1 was going to vB i was getting worried that it will take ages to load, but its nearly the same speed as the old one, just accept it :cool:

but i would like to know how to block the ads on the top and the left hand side of the pages, im using firefox

Zygar
16-12-2004, 07:06 PM
Download the Adblock Extension. (http://adblock.mozdev.org/) Lets you block those annoying flash ads too, it's great. I've also used it to block certain "shock" images.

george12
16-12-2004, 07:21 PM
It is WAAAAY faster for me, and I know that faster = less B/W used.

Really, really quick now, loving it.

Don't go Stu, such a stupid reason!

Prescott
16-12-2004, 07:22 PM
Download the Adblock Extension. (http://adblock.mozdev.org/) Lets you block those annoying flash ads too, it's great. I've also used it to block certain "shock" images.

cheers, that should do the trick

Metla
16-12-2004, 07:32 PM
Tools>options>web options>tick show pics for originating site only.

That will get rid of most adds without needing to block specific servers via adblock.

~sy~
16-12-2004, 07:39 PM
Surely the ad's can't be that heavy on bandwidth. Should only need to load once.

tweak'e
16-12-2004, 07:43 PM
Surely the ad's can't be that heavy on bandwidth. Should only need to load once.

if your on 28k think again !

they should only load once but the browser will general check to see if the add has changed or not (depending on browser and cookies etc) which in itself can slow the page loading. its far quicker if the browser dosn't check at all (or gets given false addy).

agent
16-12-2004, 07:44 PM
An extension for blocking ads is hardly needed, IMO.

Like metla said, just disable third-party images. Another thing I do is find out the hostname of the ad-rotator server and block that - saves blocking the address of individual ads.

eat soap
16-12-2004, 07:51 PM
Personaly, I find the new pf1 faster.

what happened to the spellll cheacker?
lmao.

Mike
16-12-2004, 08:00 PM
Surely the ad's can't be that heavy on bandwidth. Should only need to load once.
Ads? I guess that's why there's a big empty space at the top of the page and down the right hand side.

Mike.

Prescott
16-12-2004, 08:02 PM
yeah with that Adblock the ad still came up sometimes, but following metla's simple instructions it must of worked.

ninja
16-12-2004, 08:10 PM
It is WAAAAY faster for me, and I know that faster = less B/W used.
Ah not necessarily. A slow server could take ages to generate a lightweight page off a database, a fast server could take seconds to generate MB worth of bloat.

ninja
16-12-2004, 08:12 PM
An extension for blocking ads is hardly needed, IMO.

Like metla said, just disable third-party images. Another thing I do is find out the hostname of the ad-rotator server and block that - saves blocking the address of individual ads.
That's what the Ad-Block extension allows you to do. A lot easier to do it with that than adding entries to your hosts file.

agent
16-12-2004, 08:52 PM
That's what the Ad-Block extension allows you to do. A lot easier to do it with that than adding entries to your hosts file.

Ah, I didn't know that. All the same, I prefer the do-it-yourself method.

:D

Jester
16-12-2004, 09:01 PM
It's ironic, but sometimes the ones moaning about bandwidth hogging are those who spend most ther online time leeching and blowing their caps in 3 days.

:eek:

R2x1
16-12-2004, 09:08 PM
Since Press F1 went to vBulletin it is now a Bandwidth hog :( & I will not be coming back because of this.

Good day.

Awwww - - Diddums.

Growly
16-12-2004, 11:04 PM
I'm leaving.


































*please care*

Raikyn
16-12-2004, 11:07 PM
I actually find this quicker than the old forum.

beetle
16-12-2004, 11:13 PM
Youre leaving?

Oh well ill see you sometime tomorow then....... ;)

one thing is if you get a hard time from people when they see your name....change it so people have no idea who you are, or dont even register.

:confused:

KatiMike
17-12-2004, 12:11 AM
Thanks for the Firefox tip Metla , worked a treat ... why you off Growly ??
Ahh well s'pose you have your reasons ....

zqwerty
17-12-2004, 12:51 AM
I have a PentiumPro200S, a very old computer, I am on dial-up and PressF1 is working like greased lightning for me.

Rob99
17-12-2004, 01:03 AM
Adblock setting: *doubleclick*

Catweazle
17-12-2004, 07:12 AM
Bandwidth hog? I find the forum is only very marginally slower than the old one, even using my crusty old 56k dial-up. In fact, the ever-loading ad problem seems to have gone as well, allowing it to load faster than the old one, at times.

Catweazle

Edward
17-12-2004, 07:50 AM
yes it's slightly more... graphical... but at least it looks a bit better than the old one

~sy~
17-12-2004, 08:02 AM
*please care*

Let's party! :cool: :p

... Hi Growly! I thought you were leaving...

Growly: uh... I couldn't hold the temptation

Term_X
27-01-2005, 06:34 PM
pf1 a bandwidth hog?........

im on wired country so its always fast but loaded pf1 on both of my cousin's pc's both on 56k and the pages loaded up quite nicely, as per the previous suggestions doesnt take a genius to do some very ultra simple things like stop loading images etc...

E|im
27-01-2005, 06:48 PM
Awwww - - Diddums..

~sy~
27-01-2005, 07:52 PM
Where is Stu :p he isn't back this time!

Cicero
27-01-2005, 08:03 PM
Where is Stu :p he isn't back this time!

Thank god :thumbs:

Jen
27-01-2005, 08:11 PM
Thank god :thumbs:Hey! That is not called for. Keep your comments nice or don't post them everyone.

Thread is locked.