PDA

View Full Version : OEM XP and Nortons



frossy111
14-08-2003, 06:32 PM
I have been operating Windows XP on my computer for ages
Now I have bought a Laptop and it has another copy of XP OEM do I really need to have 2 copies of XP................
Same as above with Norton when it comes time to resubscribe.

somebody
14-08-2003, 06:39 PM
Each computer needs it's own copy of Windows, and it's own copy of Nortons. You cannot use one copy of windows on more than one computer.

godfather
14-08-2003, 06:45 PM
Yes
Each copy of Windows XP is "activated" based on a code generated by your PC hardware. Each installation requires its own licence.

What you are asking could be applied to cars as an analogy. If you own 2 cars, do you have to register each with its own set of plates, or do you swap the number plates over and drive one at a time?

Technically Nortons is the same, but as far as I know it doesnt register itself against the individual PC. So while its possible to run multiple instances, you need to consider if its permitted under the licence. :)