PDA

View Full Version : Ethernet over Power



sahilcc7
05-09-2011, 06:24 PM
If I buy one of these Ethernet over power line gadgets (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Networking-modems/Routers-firewalls/auction-404419707.htm), How do I boost my WiFi signal from one end of the house to the other end? Currently get only about 5% signal on PS3.

So do I just plug one end into the power line on one side of the house, then the other on the other side where I want the signal to be boosted? What about the Ethernet jacks on the power line things? Don't I need to enter a WiFi password?

Thanks.


...Whoops can a mod change title to 'Ethernet over Power'.

fred_fish
05-09-2011, 06:43 PM
If I buy one of these Ethernet over power line gadgets (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Networking-modems/Routers-firewalls/auction-404419707.htm), How do I boost my WiFi signal from one end of the house to the other end? Currently get only about 5% signal on PS3.

So do I just plug one end into the power line on one side of the house, then the other on the other side where I want the signal to be boosted? What about the Ethernet jacks on the power line things? Don't I need to enter a WiFi password?
You just plug the cable in to the Ethernet jack. If you want wifi there, you will need another router / AP.

sahilcc7
05-09-2011, 06:47 PM
Oh, I thought the powerline adapter itself was wireless. I'll probably buy some cheap wireless router off trade me.

Is it easy to run Ethernet through walls and roof to the other side?

gary67
05-09-2011, 06:53 PM
Oh, I thought the powerline adapter itself was wireless. I'll probably buy some cheap wireless router off trade me.

Is it easy to run Ethernet through walls and roof to the other side?

yes it is I ran my whole house with ethernet by going under the house

sahilcc7
05-09-2011, 07:26 PM
Too bad we cant go under :D. We have to go though the roof...

sahilcc7
05-09-2011, 10:14 PM
If I buy one of these Powerline adapter kits, what can I use to make a wireless hotspot there? Pretty much extending network to get full signal at that end of the house also. Another router is a the only method I know of that can be used to link the routers together and that way extend signal. I want to have the same WiFi SSID name (Same Network).

somebody
06-09-2011, 07:19 AM
The Trademe link you've provided is a PoE injector, rather than an "Ethernet over Power" kit.

linw
06-09-2011, 08:43 AM
There are ethernet over power devices that incorporate a wifi router at the far end. These would work for you. Netcomm, Netgear and D-Link are three that make them.

Ethernet cabling through the roof space is a very good option. If you can't do it yourself, an electrician would make short work of it.

sahilcc7
06-09-2011, 05:37 PM
Know a good friend thats an electrician... He will prob do it very cheap/free - He had installed the Projector power socket on the roof.

Where would I buy the wall plates from to make it look tidy on the wall? And do I need to run 2 cables from the router to send the signal to 2 different rooms?
One room is on the far end but passes through the second room I want to install an ethernet jack in.

linw
06-09-2011, 10:02 PM
Run two cables, one to each room.

Don't know about the hardware - someone else here will know where to get the faceplates etc.

linw
06-09-2011, 10:15 PM
Have a look at this link http://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.asp?forumid=49&topicid=18163

Cablesdirect has the stuff you want.

apsattv
07-09-2011, 05:59 AM
Start at the beginning

You say you only get %5 ? signal on your PS3. But fail to mention your current wifi/router setup?

You should try,

1 changing the output channel (option most likely to make a difference)
2 placing the router in a better location , e.g higher.
3 checking your router for options for the power output level
4 if the router has an detachable antenna on the back you could consider replacing it for something with more gain.

gary67
07-09-2011, 07:56 AM
Each point needs it's own cable and any electrical wholesaler will have the wall points or your electrician friend should be able to get them at trade rates as well as the cable

sahilcc7
07-09-2011, 05:06 PM
Start at the beginning

You say you only get %5 ? signal on your PS3. But fail to mention your current wifi/router setup?

You should try,

1 changing the output channel (option most likely to make a difference)
2 placing the router in a better location , e.g higher.
3 checking your router for options for the power output level
4 if the router has an detachable antenna on the back you could consider replacing it for something with more gain.

Done all of that.

If, I buy an ethernet over power kit, will it go up to 50-80m? Not to worried about speed, as long as its above 7mbps. The current wireless speed with 3 bars signal on win7 is about 15mbps.

PPp
07-09-2011, 07:11 PM
Sorry i have not read the full thread, but I got a 15mtr $15 Ethernet cable, bored 2 holes in the floor at appropriate places connected up,done!

sahilcc7
11-09-2011, 12:56 PM
I have a friend who has his desktop connected 35m (walking distance) away from the Telecom Wireless router. The wireless has a very poor signal (1 bar). Ethernet cable is not an option. I reccomended him an Ethernet over power kit and he is interested.

Just to make sure, I cannot use this : http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Networking-modems/Routers-firewalls/auction-406270113.htm

I can use this: http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Cables-adaptors/Networking/auction-405085607.htm

And will this improve the speed of the internet in that room significantly?

feersumendjinn
11-09-2011, 01:49 PM
If I buy one of these Ethernet over power line gadgets (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Networking-modems/Routers-firewalls/auction-404419707.htm), How do I boost my WiFi signal from one end of the house to the other end? Currently get only about 5% signal on PS3.

So do I just plug one end into the power line on one side of the house, then the other on the other side where I want the signal to be boosted? What about the Ethernet jacks on the power line things? Don't I need to enter a WiFi password?.
Sorry, but you seem a little confused, all that the ethernet-over-power units do is effectively extend your wired ethernet/network to any mains power point in the house and deliver wired ethernet only, any wireless access point/s or other unit has to be added by you at each desired area (no need for running any extra cables through walls for 80 meters because you already will have that).;)

You could go this way :)
http://www.airlink101.com/products/hp_wireless.php

sahilcc7
11-09-2011, 03:03 PM
Yep, I know its for wired only.

How much would a high powered wireless ap cost?

feersumendjinn
12-09-2011, 12:18 AM
http://www.gowifi.co.nz/access-points-802.11/ubiquiti-picostation-2-high-power-1000mw-802.11b/g.html

PPp
12-09-2011, 08:37 PM
I am pretty sure these ethernet over power units only work on a single circuit ,and not through every circuit in your house. So you would need to be sure your entry and exit point had the same circuit in common.

sahilcc7
12-09-2011, 08:54 PM
I am pretty sure these ethernet over power units only work on a single circuit ,and not through every circuit in your house. So you would need to be sure your entry and exit point had the same circuit in common.

Probably have to check with sparky to get that confirmed.

sahilcc7
13-09-2011, 08:28 PM
/\ I read on the internet that it will work even for a neighbor if their power is on the same power line. Is that true?

I will probably buy the powerline of eBay, but it has raised a concern; Will the powerline work if I use a US to NZ power adapter to convert to NZ sockets?