PDA

View Full Version : HELP - any tips for getting restricted licence?!?

Miss Daisy
16-11-2010, 10:17 PM
i'm new here so hi there! :punk

im in wellington and i am planning to go for my restricted licence very soon. im wondering if you have any handy tips or let me know what you got tested on - im nervous, im a confident driver when i do, but tests scare the be-jeebers out of me!

i will probably end up taking the test in porirua too.

thanks for any of your tips in advance!

:clap

jareemon
16-11-2010, 10:33 PM
yea, take the test in a small place on a quiet time of the day.
make sure you turn your head when youre looking around, dont just move your eyes, otherwise the instructor will think youre not looking.
Make sure you've got the 3 point turn nailed, particularly using the indicators properly during the turn
(its quite complex, i think you indicate to pull over, checking rear vision before indicating and before slowing down, then pull over, then look behind you AND in the rear vision mirror, then indicate right, look again, pull out and do the 1st turn, then when you get to the kerb, look both ways including behing you (for padestrians etc) then indicate the other way then look again then reverse, then scan around you, indicate right again and go.)
dont forget to look in your rear vision mirror before you indicate to turn, before you begin to slow down.
Also make sure your car is nice and clean, make sure all your lights etc work, and that the car is in warrantable shape, keep the radio and your phone off.
Dont forget your L plates, you still have to 'wear' them for the test.

Lastly, on the day, the most important thing is to relax, and take your time.

jareemon
16-11-2010, 10:35 PM
And almost forgot, Welcome to PF1! :)

lagbort
17-11-2010, 06:41 AM