PDA

View Full Version : Installing car stereos

Nomad
15-08-2010, 06:38 PM
Hi, we may upgrade it b/c it a MiniDisc, while we do have a MD at home the recorder head has failed but still reads.

So, we buy it, bring it home. How do we take the old one out? Total newbie here. Dismantle the sides? The wires, are they standardised? Like plug and play?

Cheers ...

Trev
15-08-2010, 06:45 PM
If you have never done it before and are not that way inclined, get a pro. to do it for you. I think Super Cheap might install it for you.
:)

SurferJoe46
15-08-2010, 07:41 PM
We talkin' about taking an old uint out of the dash and putting a new one in?

There are special release tools to take the old one out - if you don't use them you can mess up the locks or the cutout that the new one will need to be secure in the dash.

As far as the wires - they are also pretty modular by now on most autos and trucks - but there are exceptions to that rule fer sure!

If you've never done it b4, then I suggest that you get the teenaged kid down the street to help or enlist the aid of a stereo thief who just got paroled. They will know!

Did you get the correct 'form-factor' with the new unit too? There are special plates/adapters to make the installation clean and neat. They go on a head model-by-model application chart and YEAR/MAKE/MODEL of vehicle.

Alex B
15-08-2010, 07:53 PM
We talkin' about taking an old uint out of the dash and putting a new one in?

There are special release tools to take the old one out - if you don't use them you can mess up the locks or the cutout that the new one will need to be secure in the dash.

As far as the wires - they are also pretty modular by now on most autos and trucks - but there are exceptions to that rule fer sure!

If you've never done it b4, then I suggest that you get the teenaged kid down the street to help or enlist the aid of a stereo thief who just got paroled. They will know!