PDA

View Full Version : PXE-E61 Media Test Failure (on a Dell)



Vicx
02-07-2009, 03:56 PM
First boot device is HDD, then CDROM. From what I've read it seems like a network problem, I don't see anything booting before HDD in BIOS.

Tried opening it up and made sure the HDD cables are connected, they were definitely in tight, but that didn't work.

Can't find a way to reset BIOS either.

what else can I do?

Speedy Gonzales
02-07-2009, 04:04 PM
Disable boot from network ROM in the BIOS

inphinity
02-07-2009, 04:19 PM
If it's already set to boot off the HDD first, but is still trying to boot off the NIC, it implies that the HDD is not in a bootable state. Does it detect the HDD in the BIOS at all?

Vicx
02-07-2009, 04:26 PM
Ok I disabled NIC from the boot list and now I get this instead..

Speedy, there was floppy, cdrom, nic and hdd. I only disabled nic.

inphinity, it does detect the hdd.

BTW, F1 just repeats the question.

inphinity
02-07-2009, 04:31 PM
Translation: The HDD is saying it's stuffed. This may be a file system issue, or a hardware fault.

Speedy Gonzales
02-07-2009, 04:41 PM
Nah the network rom option will be in / under another menu, not in the boot menu

Vicx
02-07-2009, 04:44 PM
are you sure it's not simply just a screwed hdd?

if not, where do I find the network rom options?

Speedy Gonzales
02-07-2009, 04:54 PM
Could be both. Look under all the menus. I dont know what the model is, so dont know whats in the BIOS

wainuitech
02-07-2009, 05:10 PM
Go into the BIOS - reset it back to default settings, there will be the key combination listed.


Several other sites report various fixes . ( no idea if they will work or Not - Never tried)

1.The First Replyin this Dell forum (http://en.community.dell.com/forums/t/3726795.aspx)

2.Boot up in 'safe' mode and remove the Realtek controller in the Device Manager.



If that doesn't work try These steps (http://www.helpero.com/Questions-and-answers/Computers/Hardware/How-do-you-fix-error-PXE-E61-Media-Test-Failure_10246.html)